I am starting the Ready to Wear Fast at http://www.goodbyevalentino.com today and am beginning this blog so I can report my progress.  It truly is exciting to have this new challenge to spur me on with my sewing!!  However, like the true Home Economist that I am, I first want to look at my existing wardrobe and decide what I have and what will fill in the blanks.

Most sewists love their craft so much that it never dawns on them to evaluate their needs –  so they end up with a lot of clothing that they never get to wear. Other folks are able to find endless amounts of cheap clothing in the marketplace which invites them to purchase too much and to house way too much. I realize that most folks do not have a good idea of what is actually in their closets and feel like this is an extra step.   But it truly will become such a timesaver in the end.

Here are some photos of my closet:

The top half of my closet

The top half of my closet

The bottom half of my closet

The bottom half of my closet

Although you can’t see all the nooks and crannies, this is basically all there is… small by today’s American standards! And even though I do not have all my clothing in here at the moment (some is in the laundry), this is basically what I own.  I do have my out of season clothing stored in another location and I do have a bureau of my undergarments, nightclothes, and workout wear. I also keep my coats (winter and rain) and special occasion items in our hall closet.  And the wig you see is my Halloween costume!!

You can see by the picture that it is pretty neat and organized.  What you cannot see in the picture is that some of these items are not useful to me because they don’t fit or I no longer wear this style or they never have worked with my wardrobe.  So the first step in my Ready to Wear Fast is to decide what I truly can wear, what won’t work, and what I can do to change the “won’t works” into “will works”.  If they can’t be changed into “will works”, then off to charity they will go!

As I ring in 2014, I am off to count my blessings (eh, turtlenecks).  Hope you will join me in this new adventure!

Patti

